12 Minutes Max 2/20 and 2/21

Awesometimes.
A couple sundays ago I went up to Seattle to audition for this thing called 12 Minutes Max. It’s an art thing where you get 12 minutes to do whatever you want in front of an audience. I’d heard good things from my friend Matt Smith and asked to audition and was granted a slot. When I got there I was a little intimidated. There was a wild looking, but very sweet, man immediately before me. I could here him doing Tom Waits kind of operatic songs inside while I waited to tell my story. After he went in an older gentleman wearing a denim jacket with “ANTI FASCIST MARCHING BAND” written in puffy paint on the back.
“Hm… this may not be my venue.” I thought as I waited. Finally it was my turn and I went into a very well lit room with 3 people, 2 women and 1 man, sitting in the seats. They were very sweet and couldn’t have been more interested or accommodating, but in the story that I was about to tell I was a TERRIBLE person and I usually there are bright lights in my eyes or I’ve had a beer or 3 and here I was… lonely with no microphone and no audience and nothing to hide behind. And I had to just tell this story wherein I’m an awful person. And thankfully they laughed a little and were very very kind. They told me they would let me know later if I got in. So I got in my car and drove to Tacoma and went record shopping.

On the way home they called and invited me to appear in their show. I couldn’t be more excited. Seattle here I come! on the 21st and 22nd in Seattle I’ll be telling a different story both nights so come and have some fun with me if you can. It’s going to be awesome!

Here’s the they send with all the info if you want to come:

on the boards

this is where I'll be

12 Minutes Max: A Performance Exhibition
Sun – Mon | Feb 21 – 22, 2010 | 7pm | $8

Seattle – On the Boards (OtB) presents the fifth 12 Minutes Max (12MM) of the 09/10 season. OtB’s longest running program has benefited artists in the Pacific Northwest for the last 30 years by allowing them to try out new material and works-in-progress. The latest installment of this experimental performance showcase runs in OtB’s Studio Theater, Sunday and Monday, February 21 – 22, 2010 at 7pm. The cost is $8 at the door (no advanced reservations taken).

This 12MM was curated by Jeppa Hall (Queen Shmooquan, Goatgirl) & Keri Healey (playwright, director & company member of Printer’s Devil Theater).

Lineup for the fifth 12MM of the 09/10 Season:

* Two 16MM projectors run direct-animation of stars producing both a visual and aural landscape for Eric Ostrowski’s megaphone-amplified violin. (Media | Music)
* Growing up in Hollywood has its advantages. Listen and watch as Erin Shafkind explains the wonders, the trials and tribulations of almost being a child star. (Theater)
* Victoria Jacobs bridges modern dance and flamenco by using a quizzical eye on rhythm, meaning, character and gesture. (Dance)
* The A-hole Barishnikovs return to 12MM! Richard Lefebvre, Otis P. Otis & Erin Jorgensen bring us 2 new works of amplified words and music entitled Why I Like Drugs. (Music)
* AFMB (Honk West Division) perform a street-style musical blowout of well-known tunes delivered by 6 wildly uniformed band members. (Music)
* VAM | Veronica Mendonca use water as inspiration in this excerpt of A Parenthesis in Time, a new evening length dance work that is all at once athletic, calm and reckless. (Dance)
* Making his 12MM debut, Nathaniel Boggess (Portland, OR) tells the hilarious and tragic experience that is his life, with particular attention to a series of ill-fated dates and the comedy of errors that ensued. (Theater)
About the Curators

Jeppa Hall is a performance artist, musician and vocalist interested in creating new innovative performance in Seattle. She has created Goatgirl (music of Jeppa Hall), the amazing Queen Shmooquan, and Finger, a music and performance duo with Julie Baldridge.
Keri Healey is a playwright, director and company member of Printer’s Devil Theater. She is currently working on a new play called Torso about a murder in the Midwest. Her past work includes Cherry Cherry Lemon, Don’t You Dare Love Me and The IKEA Cycle.

0 Responses to “12 Minutes Max 2/20 and 2/21”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

