Flat Iron.

This will not, by any means, become an “I hate my room mate and here’s why…” Blog. My room mate is a nice guy, and I like him. He’s pretty respectful and very sweet and generally a pretty good room mate. But once in a while (see ASTRO GLIDER, an earlier post) he does something that just sort of… blows my mind.

This morning, while I was making breakfast he was in the living room talking with his girlfriend. I wasn’t eavesdropping, but I could easily hear their conversation. They were talking about his new job when he suddenly said, “Wait… i’m going to go plug in my hair straightener.” And then he jumped up and ran into the bathroom and came back. I went to the bathroom to wash my hands and to see if really he had a hair straightener and sure enough… plugged into the wall was this.

I coughed a little laugh and moved it out of the sink so that I could wash my hands without being electrocuted. Then I went back into the kitchen. In the interim they had moved on to talking about the bar that he went to in a crappy suburb of Portland. He spoke incredulously toward the usual patrons of the bar. “Is that a mullet?”, he said in an exaggerated and painfully inaccurate southern drawl. The fact that he actually has a mullet seemed lost on him. I mean… the answer to the question, “Do you have a mullet?”, is Yes. Yes you do have a mullet. What did he think would happen if he, quite literally, cut the top and sides of his hair short, while leaving the back very long and then using a FLAT IRON to straighten it. If part of what I wore, or how I fixed my hair was openly and mockingly ironic to a certain class or group of people I wouldn’t go to where they hang out and be like, ‘What?… what’s yer problem doods?’

Additionally, I am by no means bummed on my room mate for his hair style. Or the way that he dresses. My good friend always says “you gotta do you man…” And he’s right, that’s the best way to be. But a little self awareness goes a long way.

4 Responses to “Flat Iron.”


  1. 1 Neesie D March 24, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. A mullet and a flat iron? This guy could be dangerous!

  2. 3 Timb March 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Not a bad first post. For your next assignment, I’d like you to comment on this:


Leave a Reply

