The Truth About Your Boyfriend.

So it was my birthday Sunday. My girlfriend came down to visit as she lives in Seattle and I live in Portland. We hadn’t been getting along for a while and I remember thinking at my birthday party that, boy… it sure isn’t any fun being her boyfriend anymore. And in the morning I woke up and realized that it was totally ending. We broke up that evening through a polite, but terse conversation. It was over. We agreed on that. We agreed that there was no longer any reason to talk about it. Everything had been said, so things would be returned and plans broken. Facebook statuses updated and pictures removed.

Disappointment, anger, remorse, euphoria.

Then the post break up ritual began. I really like this part of the break up process. The part where people are conciliatory and complimentary. They say awesome and fun things like “You’re skinny and cute, you’ll totally find another girl!” or… “You’re Tall and funny, you’ll have no problem finding someone.” The phone calls come in and they always begin with “what happened?” and end with a “Chin up buttercup!” and they honestly do make me feel much better.

But my absolute favorite part is when people tell you how they really felt about the person that you are no longer tethered to. Someone usually says, “She was my favorite of the girls I’ve seen you date!” It’s a wonderful sentiment, but certainly doesn’t help anyone feel better about it ending. Another popular favorite is, “But you were so in love?!” Sure were. Now we are not. The much rarer, but totally awesome “I didn’t like her…” happened this time. One of my closest friends told me, in no uncertain terms, just what she thought about my most recent romantic foray. And it was not positive. She pulled nary a punch and when it was over I felt ok about what she said. Not cause it was true, or untrue or mean, but because at least one other person out there was happy for me in the way that I am now happy for myself.

P.s. for anyone that might know her, I think she is a wonderful person and I wish her the best. There’s no ill will, I don’t blame her and am not angry or upset with her. It just didn’t work out… sometimes things don’t.

This is for the enemy

4 Responses to “The Truth About Your Boyfriend.”


  1. 1 Tiffany July 20, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I usually slap people when they tell me to chin up, THAT makes me feel better, ha ha!

  2. 2 Jessica Sheinbaum July 20, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    YOU were my favorite of all the guys Abby has ever dated. Aaron and I were excited that finally a couple existed wherein we both liked both people.
    Ah well. I’m sorry it didn’t work out……..

    be well!

  3. 3 nathaniel July 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks, yeah I really liked you all too. It’s really a bummer that it didn’t work out.

  4. 4 Daddio July 22, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Well, son, I haven’t met the last two gfs. If it didn’t work out, it’s for the best. I told Gin this one was like a meteor streaking across the sky, burning up on entering the earth’s atmosphere.

    You’re the finest young man I know. You deserve the best woman in the world. When it happens, it will be great. I have to get some grandkids before I get too old to tie a hook on, man. Get busy!!!


Leave a Reply

