Post-Youth.

On my last birthday my dad sent me a card that said, “When I turned your age… you were four.” The implication was that he wanted some grandbabies, but I got something very different out of it.

When my dad turned 32 he had a wife and they owned a home. He had 2 kids. He worked on a railroad moving coal around Appalachia. I am 32 and I do not have a “real” job. I’m a “Production Assistant” in the “film industry”. I do not have a wife. In fact, I rarely have a relationship last longer than a few months. I rent a big(ish) room in a house in NE Portland for less than 400 dollars a month.

My peers and I still refer to most of our friends as girls or boys, or dudes, or kids. The kids. We are the kids. But I am not a kid. We still go to shows and buy records. We rent cramped and dirty spaces to make our music and our art. We sit around in coffee shops talking about how great the things we are working on will be and never finish them. We get tattoos instead of pay the Comcast bill. We stay up late talking about novels, and movies, and songs, and making lists and then arguing over them and we are over 30. Or will be soon. We do not have health insurance, and we do not go to the dentist. We are not kids anymore, but we are not adults. Not in the sense that our parents are.

We are Post-Youth.

We disregard our wars as entertainment and our politics as comedy. And somehow we aren’t forced into any of the corners that our parents were. We aren’t drafted. We aren’t mortgaged. Our offices are stolen and we don’t care. We are saying the same things we have been saying since we were actually young. We are waiting around on someone to pay for our rent, and our mistakes. To buy us dinner. To make us famous. To celebrate everything we say, and think, and do and make and to tell us that we are beautiful and put us to bed.

And when we wake up in the morning and no one has done this we think, “maybe tomorrow…”

The Kids are All Old.

4 Responses to “Post-Youth.”


  1. 1 shannon September 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Wtf did you not pay the comcast bill?! I’m gonna be pissed if we don’t have internet so you could have that mickey tatt 😉

  2. 2 Evan September 16, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    There was a NYT article a couple weeks ago about this; they called it “extended adolescence” or somesuch. It was more about rich kids who moved back in with their parents after college because they couldn’t find a career-type job, though. At least some of it is caused by old people fucking up the economy so that the only jobs for people with little experience are shitty.

    I know of people my age who have wives and kids and houses. A couple of them were lucky enough to get “real” jobs, but most of them have a handful of jobs between them and a shitload of debt, so the kids are probably better off in that regard.

    • 3 nathaniel September 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      I agree sir. I agree. It’s not that I’m so much bummed out, or coming down on my, or anyone’s life style, i’m just confused. I am doing things so very differently than anyone else in my family and most of the time, I have no idea what I’m doing.

      • 4 Sandy October 2, 2010 at 6:41 pm

        Follow your dreams! The most miserable people on earth are the people that didn’t and just fell into the status quo. Good Luck


Leave a Reply

