Liftoff.

Liftoff.

The day I have chosen to leave this city is the first sunny day in weeks. This is a good sign. This is the city waving goodbye. I love you Portland Oregon. You are the home that I am leaving now. It is much harder to leave this home than it was to leave my first home. West Virginia was given too me, but I chose this place and have grown up here.

I have learned so much here. But the best lesson came in the last few days.

I drove past 6th and Oak downtown Portland and saw the building that I used to work in for an environmental consulting firm. I had tried and tried to get into the marketing dept and they passed me over again and again. I realized, sitting at a red light waiting for green, that if they had given me that job that I would still be there. I would have been grateful for that job and I would have taken it and sat in that seat for as long as they would have let me. I would never have gotten into film production. Acting Class. Written a One Man show. Been on a TV show. Or decided to move to California.

I realized that a lot of the time, I had been offered something that was good enough and had taken it, and never thought to ask for more. I had let someone else decide how far I should go, or how much I should take, or how much I should give.

I am choosing now.
I am choosing to give everything I have.

Thank you Portland.

2 Responses to “Liftoff.”


  1. 1 shannon March 7, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I love you for posting a picture of our bathroom wallpaper. Miss you already.

  2. 2 Christian Lagadec March 7, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Ride the wave and rock!


Leave a Reply

