New Shoes.

I now have my own room in an apartment I share with two ladies. One is a scientist, one is a musician, both are in their mid twenties.

We live a block and a half off the famous Sunset Boulevard, in (the not famous) Angelino Heights, a historically Latino Community. Most of the people I pass on the street are speaking Spanish. That won’t be true in 10 years, and they know that in a way that I can’t. They know that in the same way the unions in Wisconsin know that their future will be a darker version of the past.

The police station’s helicopter circles over head a lot. Mostly, I believe, because the station itself is only about a mile away. I haven’t figured out if they do this because they are pursuing someone, or if it is a preventative measure. I prefer to think of it as the latter.

Right now the city feels like a new pair of shoes that I wish were already broken in. The old shoes having been thrown out, all I can do is go through this process. I am hopeful and excited about it, but also nervous. I lived in West Virginia for most of my life and found that, some things, no matter how long you wear them will never be comfortable.
Other things just need a bit of living in first.

6 Responses to “New Shoes.”


  1. 1 ginny nelson April 3, 2011 at 7:18 am

    The pains, if you will, and anxiety of moving is like starting a new job. You must learn the dynamics of the people, who you can trust and who you cannot (where you can travel safely and places you should avoid). You have to learn the layout of the office (to navigate the city) find the copy room (or the local grocery store). Its uncomfortable at first but you trudge through until one day it fits. Its as if you have been there all of your life. You move through with comfort, ease, and confidence. You drive places and when you get there you think “how did I get here?” You don’t even remember the drive because it has become routine. You will get there. One day you will just realize your in that place… when you can finally call it home. Love and miss you Nae.

  2. 2 Dad April 4, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Take care of your body and it will take care of you.

    Behind every good man is a good woman. A “good” woman I said.

    Learn to embrace fear. It is your enemy so keep it close to you. Stare it down. Chase it like a cur dog that is That is the greatest thing you will conquer in your life.

    Sight your scope in for the maximum range of your rife and use Kentucky windage for everything else. Most of us sight our scope in for 100 yards and use Ky windage for everthing else.

    There will be plent of time for old haunts and worn out house slippers when you are old.

  3. 3 Dad April 4, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Pardon the typos in my previous post. My boss came in my office and I hit send.

  4. 4 Sandy April 9, 2011 at 7:12 am

    You did it!! So proud, just be cautious of your new surroundings.
    Hope all goes well for you, make it happen. We love you.

  5. 5 Cousin Nickie May 9, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Hey cuz long time no talk…. I am sooooo happy for u and all that u have accomplished. This little skit u got shortly after moving there is only the beginning for u. I have very HIGH HOPES for u and know that u will succeed no matter where u “end up”….. We all love u and know that u will be fine. I know it seems over whelming and confusing but KEEP YOUR HEAD UP!!!!
    We all pray for u and Ginny everyday that things are good for u all….. U are gonna be the “STAR” of the family… I ALWAYS knew it tooo…
    Love Nickie

  6. 6 iamnoahjames August 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    It is pretty anxious to move to a new place. I moved out here in November from Indianapolis, so I feel you – though my wife had a harder transition than I did.


Leave a Reply

