Third World Firsts.

The night before last the famous Santa Anna Winds ripped through my neighborhood and knocked my power out at 1am. The flashing green and blue lights from exploding transformers seemed especially eerie when set against the then completely dark neighborhood. It sounded and looked like a space war was happening on top of us.

In the morning, to my surprise, the power remained out. Luckily I had batteries for my radio and learned that about 300,000 other people were without power too. ALSO lucky for me my water heater was gas and so was my stove. I made eggs and took a shower and tried to go about my day normally. But I couldn’t. I couldn’t go to the coffee shop that I normally went too. I couldn’t go to the gym. I couldn’t really do anything but read or listen to NPR and when my phone ran out of power I would have to find somewhere to charge it, or drive around with it charging in my car.

By 4:30pm it was dark again. I walked to a El Chavo, a bar on Sunset and Fountain, to read and hang out till my friend got off work. The closer I got to Sunset the weirder things looked. A large stretch of Sunset was without power and there in a very busy and confusing intersection were two traffic officers directing traffic. All the shops looked like Ships that had run aground years ago. The car headlights were the only source of light and they looked like tracers from a bad idea as they whizzed past.

El Chavo was closed. “Of Course.” I thought. I walked around for an hour and a half looking for a place to read. I kept thinking about the time that I went into a Fred Meyer’s one night a couple years ago. I needed floss, but they were out. I needed some bread, but they were out. I needed some pretzels. Out. Everything I looked for was gone and I thought, “This is what it’s like for everyone else.”

This morning when I went home and finding the power STILL out, called the Power Company. Surprisingly, they answered right away, and they said power would be restored in the next 48 hours. My heart sank. This really IS how they live in Iraq, in Afghanistan, in all those places I hear about on NPR. As I was pulling out of the driveway my porch light came on. I went back inside my house and turned the lights on and off and marveled at the flashing numbers on the stove, microwave, and alarm clock. FINALLY, I can listen to records and read, or take a shower after 4pm.

... but LOOK at this view!

3 Responses to “Third World Firsts.”


  1. 1 mary meyer December 3, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    You had a great response ti the situation. We in USA are so solipcistic. mmm MMM

  2. 2 Janie December 3, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Hey guy, really enjoyed this. Sorry you had such a crappy time with the power off. Love you…

  3. 3 Your Old Man December 7, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Really good blog, buddy. It’s far out how your mind works. Love you a lot.


Leave a Reply

